Skip to main content

The Commission appoints members to the newly reformed Building Technical Panel

28 May 2020

The State Planning Commission (the Commission) has appointed a new Chair, Deputy Chair and added a new core member plus six occasional members to the recently reformed Building Technical Panel—formerly, the Building Committee—for the period 11 May until 2 October 2020.

Previous Building Committee members, Debbie Frisby, Jeffrey Shillabeer and Joanne Payne have been appointed to positions on the Building Technical Panel as Chair, Deputy Chair and ordinary member respectively.

Miranda Centofanti, a former practicing architect with over 20 years’ experience in construction, performance based design and project management, has been appointed as an ordinary member.

The six new Building Technical Panel occasional members—Bernie Steer, Brett Fennell, James Cibich, Leah Bertholini, Nick Ingerson and Peter Murton—collectively bring qualifications, experience and industry knowledge in building fire safety design, building surveying, energy efficiency, structural engineering and fire-fighting operations, all of which are particularly pertinent to provide expert advice on the Building Rules.

The new appointments follow the Commission’s approval of a new terms of reference to reform the Building Committee (BC) as the Building Technical Panel (BTP) in December last year. All members are appointed initially until 2 October 2020 and are eligible for reappointment.

The BTP will undertake delegated building-related statutory functions of the Commission under the Planning, Development Infrastructure Act 2016 (PDI Act) and the Development Act 1993.

Visit the State Planning Commission website for more information on the role of the Building Technical Panel and to view the new member profiles.