Skip to main content

Committees and Hearing Panels

On 1 August 2017, the State Planning Commission (the Commission) assumed the functions of the Development Policy Advisory Committee (DPAC).  Therefore any functions previously performed by the DPAC are now the responsibility of the Commission.

For practical purposes this means that if a hearing is necessary on any of the matters previously considered by the former DPAC, the Commission will appoint a Hearing Panel, as and when required to deal with the matter.

Further information

In April 2020, the State Planning Commission appointed a specialist Heritage Sub-Committee for a period of two years.

The Sub-Committee is responsible for discussing and reviewing Statement of Intents (SOIs) for proposed local heritage listings, ensuring that the listing are well justified against the prescribed local heritage criteria.

In addition, the members will also hear and consider owner objectors and make final recommendations to the Minister through the Commission.

The Sub-Committee membership is as follows, with three members required to consider each Development Plan Amendment:

  • Allan Holmes (chair)
  • Craig Holden (deputy chair)
  • Bruce Harry
  • Deborah Lindsay
  • Ron Danvers
  • Elizabeth Little
  • Jenny Newman
  • Representative of Heritage SA, Department of Environment and Water.

These members have been appointed within a short time to meet the timeframes associated with the SOIs and the implementation of the new planning system. The Commission intends to conduct an advertised expression of interest for Heritage Sub-Committees in the future.

The Commission appoints Hearing Panels to consider Development Plan Amendments (DPAs). These Hearing Panels comprise both Commission members and Panelists with expertise in relevant disciplines.

Information about development plan amendments in general can be found on Consultation on amendments to development plans.

Further information