Skip to main content

State Planning Commission appoints New SCAP Members

13 May 2020

The State Planning Commission (the Commission) has appointed five new members to the State Commission Assessment Panel (SCAP) for the period 1 June 2020 to 31 May 2023.

Ms Rebecca Thomas, who has over 20 years of experience in development assessment and policy, has been appointed the SCAP Presiding Member. Mr Dennis Mutton will retain his membership as the SCAP Deputy Presiding Member to provide continuity and support the transition to the new panel.

The four new ordinary members – John Eckert, Emma Herriman, Paul Leadbeter and Grant Pember – bring extensive experience in local government, urban and regional planning, design, building safety and construction, environmental management and sustainability, heritage conservation, landscape design and legal expertise.

All members were appointed following an open and public five-week expression of interest process for SCAP panel positions in February this year.

The Commission extends its thanks to Ms Simone Fogarty, the outgoing Presiding Member and the preceding members of SCAP for their support, dedication and hard work during their term.

To further boost expertise and proficiencies available to the Commission and the SCAP, the Commission will explore the opportunity to create a future pool of specialist occasional members to ensure a broad mix of specialist knowledge and expertise is available to the Commission and the Panel.

The SCAP plays a pivotal role in the delivery of key planning decisions and will help shape the communities we want to live and work in, both now and into the future.

Visit the State Commission Assessment Panel website to view the new SCAP member profiles and for more information about their appointments.